Bubble Agreement With India

It is different from return flights, which are only a possibility, and passengers must register at the embassy to board such flights. In the midst of the Covid 19 pandemic, the government decided to extend the closure of the borders with India until 15 December. Previously, the border was scheduled to open on November 15. There are 20 crossing points divided by India and Nepal, but apart from a few of them, they have been closed since March 24, when the closure was imposed in Nepal. With some European countries reporting a second wave of infection, air bubbles allowing citizens to travel freely between certain nations under a reciprocal agreement appear to be the “new normal”, even if demand for international air travel remains low. The EU`s civil aviation minister, Hardeep Singh Puri, said India was negotiating air bubble agreements with 13 other countries. After the necessary discussions, The Minister of Tourism, Yogesh Bhattarai, presented the agenda for joining the air bubble programme at the meeting of the Covid-19 crisis management centre. Regarding the air bubble with the Netherlands, a circular from the Ministry of Civil Aviation states that “India created an air bubble with the Netherlands from 1 November 2020 and would remain valid until the resumption of scheduled international flights between the two countries.” The circular also mentions that Indian nationals or nationals from Nepal or Bhutan who are stranded in any country in the Schengen area, South America or Africa, as well as all holders of OIC and PIO cards who have passports from any country, can travel on flights from the Netherlands to India. India is adding a new country to the list of air bubbles: Japan i. stranded Canadian nationals/residents and foreigners with valid Canadian visas authorized to enter Canada; The Ministry of Tourism has again proposed to sign an “air bubbles” agreement with India, more than a month and a half after its first proposal was rejected by the government amid sour relations with the southern neighbour due to border disputes. The Air Bubble Agreement is a bilateral air corridor between different countries to ease travel restrictions imposed by different countries because of coronavirus. Despite the ban, India was one of the first nations to begin repatriating stranded Indians as early as May. Soon after, Air Bubbles was created to make travel easier.

Prior to this recent development, India had air bubble agreements with Bangladesh, Oman, Bhutan, Kenya, Afghanistan, Bahrain, Canada, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Maldives, Nigeria, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Ukraine and the United States. An official from Nepal`s Civil Aviation Administration, who wanted to remain anonymous, told the post office that they did not understand the policy of limiting flights with his immediate neighbour, although the air bubble system is the safest way to travel. Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri said: “The mission to repatriate stranded citizens began on 6 May 2020 and is now on the verge of being admitted to Phase 7. International travel of more than 28 Lakh people has been facilitated so far. There are more flights and air bubble arrangements to do more. VBM continues… In order to mitigate a large number of quarantine and Covid 10 testing rules in arrival destinations, governments are implementing “air bubble” agreements between countries. Air bubbles or travel corridors are systems that are set up between two countries, which perceive each other as safe and allow airlines in both countries to fly passengers in both directions without restrictions. India adds to the Netherlands and Tanzania in the list of the Bubble Arrangement Of Air India has established an air bubble with Afghanistan.

Please contact the office if you require a paper copy of any of these documents.

© 2020 Woodland View Primary School